Join the YKS community







Chat - General koi related chat!

dave23869

YKS club member
"16a breaker wattage load" 7:37pm Wednesday 8th Jan


joined: 2nd May 04
last here: 3:02pm Today
posts: 1222
from: near whitby north yorkshi

A few months ago an electrician installed a 2 way garage consumer unit and put my pond on a 16a think it’s a type d breaker the other breaker in it is 6a rated bit not used just I was thinking of putting sockets in my filterhouse to replace a switch box would that be ok just last thing I want is to overload it anyone know what wattage it will safely take thank in advance


4000 gallons queni koi drum and jbr plastics bio chamber drum fed from bottom drain 3 inch gravity skimmer also into drum 55 watt submersible uv 240 litres air and 12 fishI
BLEMMY"RE: 16a breaker wattage load" 9:39am Thursday 9th Jan | message edited 2 times
joined: 7th Jan 06
last here: 10:32pm Sunday 19th Jan
posts: 165
from: Cardiff

Hi Dave,

In terms of the simple math behind your question;I believe the formula is:

Fuse rating = (watts/volts) x 1.25. So a 200 watt pump for example would require a Fuse rating = (200/240) x 1.25. Fuse rating = (0.83333333) x 1.25. Fuse rating = 1.04166667 amps.

Theoretically a 6amp breaker would cope with a total load of circa 1,150 watts and a 16 amp breaker would cope with circa 3.070 watts.

Please note I'm no expert and I believe in certain circumstances equipment draw a much heavier load when initially switching on than it does thereafter. I would really advise you seek help from a qualified electrician.

Paul


3500 Gals; gravity fed Nexus 300; Amalgam UV (fed by dry mounted Vari-flow 20000) and Bakki Shower (3 tray) directly pump fed (20,000 l/hr) from the pond; independent skimmer line which is fed by a dry mounted Vari-flow 10000 pump through a Nexus Eazypod, Airtec 130, Heated - 10.5KW Crystal Enterprises ASHP
dave23869

YKS club member
"RE: 16a breaker wattage load" 10:38am Thursday 9th Jan


joined: 2nd May 04
last here: 3:02pm Today
posts: 1222
from: near whitby north yorkshi

Cheers for that I’m not using anywhere near the max load so electrician who installed was right in saying it was well ample for what I intended so only using 800 watts why I ask is I want to replace a switch box with a 4 gang socket using a 2 to 4 socket converter won’t be putting anymore load on the breaker so should be ok I wiring the switch box and wiring on socket is a job my mate can do for me just needed re assurance I wouldn’t be overloading anything


4000 gallons queni koi drum and jbr plastics bio chamber drum fed from bottom drain 3 inch gravity skimmer also into drum 55 watt submersible uv 240 litres air and 12 fishI
BLEMMY"RE: 16a breaker wattage load" 12:41pm Thursday 9th Jan
joined: 7th Jan 06
last here: 10:32pm Sunday 19th Jan
posts: 165
from: Cardiff

No Problem Dave.

All the best

Paul


3500 Gals; gravity fed Nexus 300; Amalgam UV (fed by dry mounted Vari-flow 20000) and Bakki Shower (3 tray) directly pump fed (20,000 l/hr) from the pond; independent skimmer line which is fed by a dry mounted Vari-flow 10000 pump through a Nexus Eazypod, Airtec 130, Heated - 10.5KW Crystal Enterprises ASHP


Back to Topics




©2020 The Yorkshire Koi Society | Terms and Conditions | webmaster tonyw | graphics dave_norm_smith